Return to Regional Distortion in the 2013 BC Election

Regional chart explanation

This table shows the vote% for each of the regions.  The vote% is then converted into seat % based on the number of seats in the region.  The actual seats are also shown.  This forms the basis for the regional seats bar chart.

The makeup of each region is shown below.




















































Ridings in each Region

Northern BC – Nechako Lakes, North Coast, Peace River North, Peace River South, Prince George-Mackenzie, Prince George-Valemount, Skeena, Stikine

Thompson Cariboo – Cariboo-Chilcotin, Cariboo North, Fraser-Nicola, Kamloops-North Thompson, Kamloops-South Thompson

Kootenays – Columbia River-Revelstoke, Kootenay East, Kootenay West, Nelson-Creston

Okanagan Shuswap – Boundary-Similkameen, Kelowna-Lake Country, Kelowna-Mission, Penticton, Shuswap, Vernon-Monashee, Westside-Kelowna

Fraser Valley – Abbotsford-Mission, Abbotsford South, Abbotsford West, Chilliwack, Chilliwack-Hope, Fort Langley-Aldergrove, Langley, Maple Ridge-Mission, Maple Ridge-Pitt Meadows

Richmond Delta – Delta North, Delta South, Richmond Centre, Richmond East, Richmond-Steveston

Surrey – Surrey-Cloverdale, Surrey-Fleetwood, Surrey-Green Timbers, Surrey-Newton, Surrey-Panorama, Surrey-Tynehead, Surrey-Whalley, Surrey-White Rock

Burnaby, New Westminster, Tri-Cities – Burnaby-Deer Lake, Burnaby-Edmonds, Burnaby-Lougheed, Burnaby North, Coquitlam-Burke Mountain, Coquitlam-Maillardville, New Westminster, Port Coquitlam, Port Moody-Coquitlam

Vancouver – Vancouver-Fairview, Vancouver-False Creek, Vancouver-Fraserview, Vancouver-Hastings, Vancouver-Kensington, Vancouver-Kingsway, Vancouver-Langara, Vancouver-Mount Pleasant, Vancouver-Point Grey, Vancouver-Quilchena, Vancouver-West End

North Shore Sunshine Coast – North Vancouver-Lonsdale, North Vancouver-Seymour, Powell River-Sunshine Coast, West Vancouver-Capilano, West Vancouver-Sea to Sky

Vancouver Island – Alberni-Pacific Rim, Comox Valley, Cowichan Valley, Nanaimo, Nanaimo-North Cowichan, North Island, Parksville-Qualicum

Greater Victoria – Esquimalt-Royal Roads, Juan de Fuca, Oak Bay-Gordon Head, Saanich North and the Islands, Saanich South, Victoria-Beacon Hill, Victoria-Swan Lake